Links Directory
Google Search
Search - Blog

Njinga, Queen of Angola

In the 17th century a warrior queen fights for the independence of Angola. After witnessing the murder of her son and watching her people being humiliated by Portuguese colonizers, Njinga will become a Queen and struggle for their liberation embodying the motto: those who stay fight to win. Our story begins in...
Continue reading
2228 Hits

The Ancient City Of Kano

his essay is taken from the writings of Ibrahim Ado-Kurawa (2015) Sarkin Kano Muhammad Sanusi II A Public Intellectual and Accomplished Technocrat (2014) ‘The History, Dynamics and Character of Kano: Brief History of Kano 999 to 2003′ in Bako, A. et al (ed) Issues on Nigerian Peoples and Culture Ahmadu Bello University Press, Zaria and (2010) Kano State 1967-2010 Research and Documentation Directorate Kano State.

Kano State of the Federal Republic of Nigeria lies between latitude 130N in the North and 110N in the South, and longitude 80W in the West and 100E in the East. Kano State consists of 44 local government areas: Ajingi, Albasu, Bagwai, Bebeji, Bichi, Bunkure, Dala, Dambatta, Dawakin Kudu, Dawakin Tofa, Doguwa, Fagge, Gabasawa, Garko, Garun Mallam, Gaya, Gezawa, Gwale, Gwarzo, Kabo, Karaye, Kibiya, Kiru, Kumbotso, Kura, Kunchi, Madobi, Makoda, Minjibir, Kano Municipal, Nassarawa, Rano, Rimin Gado, Rogo, Shanono, Sumaila, Takai, Tarauni, Tsanyawa, Tudun Wada, Tofa, Ungogo, Warawa and Wudil. The total land area of Kano State is 20,760sq kilometers with a population of 9,383,682.

Kano City has been the capital of Kasar Kano. It was at various times referred to as the capital of the Kano Kingdom, the Kano Emirate or Kano State, since the earliest recorded time. It is located on latitude 12.000N and longitude 8.300E within the semi-arid Sudan savannah zone of West Africa about 840 kilometers from the edge of the Sahara desert. Kano has a mean height of about 472.45m above sea level. Kano Megacity has expanded over the years and has become the second largest city in Nigeria with a population of over five million people. It is presently made up of ten local government areas: Municipal, Gwale, Dala, Tarauni, Nassarawa, Fagge, Ungogo, Kumbotso, Warawa, Gezawa, Minjibir, Dawakin Kudu and Dawakin Tofa. Kano’s most enduring legacy Gidan Rumfa (Emir’s Palace) the seat of Kano’s prestigious Sarauta institution (Kingship) built over five hundred years ago is located in the Municipal Local Government Area. It is the oldest continuous seat of authority in sub-Saharan Africa. The Kano State Government House is located in Tarauni Local Government Area.

Continue reading
2172 Hits